Delete Routing Zone

When you delete routing zones, all virtual networks created under the routing zone are also deleted, and the connectivity templates that are assigned are automatically unassigned. Those unassigned connectivity templates become available to be assigned elsewhere, or to be deleted. (In previous versions, you had to manually find and unassign connectivity templates before you could delete routing zones.)

Delete One Routing Zone

  1. From the blueprint, navigate to Staged > Virtual > Routing Zones and click the Delete button in the Actions panel for the RZ to delete.
    Network management interface with tabs like Dashboard and Analytics. Virtual section selected with Routing Zones table showing VRF Name and Type. Create Routing Zone button available.
    The Delete Routing Zone dialog opens.
  2. The dialog shows the routing zone and virtual networks to be deleted. Click the drop-down triangle to show (or hide) the connectivity templates that will be unassigned.
    User interface for deleting a routing zone with details like Name, Type, and more. Red arrow highlights show/hide connectivity templates option. Red Delete button at bottom right.
  3. Click Delete to stage the deletion and return to the table view.
    Note:

    If you get an error, it's probably because there's a dependency that you need to remove manually. If a connectivity template refers to an object (like a virtual network endpoint) that is created by another connectivity template, you need to unassign that dependent object. Then you can return to step 1.

When you're ready to activate your changes, commit them from the Uncommitted tab.

Delete Multiple Routing Zones

  1. From the blueprint, navigate to Staged > Virtual > Routing Zones, select the check boxes for the routing zones to delete, then click the Delete selected routing zones button that becomes available above the table. (Tip: Use the Query function to filter specific routing zones.) (The screenshot below is for version 4.2.0. Newer versions include a column for Routing Policy Name that you can link to directly; and you can select which columns to show in the table, and some menu tabs have been renamed, moved, and/or added.)
    User interface of a network management tool showing tabs for staged, uncommitted, active, and time voyager states, navigation menu with virtual section selected, submenu with routing zones selected, table listing routing zones with details like VRF name, VLAN ID, and route target, and options to create, delete, or manage routing zones.
    The Delete Routing Zones dialog opens.
  2. Click the drop-down triangles to show (or hide) the routing zones to be deleted and the connectivity templates to be unassigned
    User interface for deleting routing zones in a network management system with sections for zones to delete and not available for deletion, connectivity templates to unassign, and a red Delete button.
  3. Click Delete to stage the deletion and return to the table view.
    Note:

    If you get an error, it's probably because there's a dependency that you need to remove manually. If a connectivity template refers to an object (like a virtual network endpoint) that is created by another connectivity template, you need to unassign that dependent object. Then you can return to step 1.