VN Deletion Impact on Connectivity Templates of type Multiple VLAN

Introduction

In some cases, deleting a virtual network (VN) that is used in Connectivity Templates removes VN endpoints from multiple interfaces. In some blueprints, VN deletion impacts other VNs that share the same template primitives. For example, in a template where VLAN endpoints are provisioned using Connectivity Templates of type “Multiple VLANs,” which group together multiple VLANs in the same Connectivity Template. Previously, administrators had to be aware of these dependencies so as not to disrupt connectivity when removing unused VNs. HPE Networking Apstra Data Center Director 6.1 addresses this by making these dependencies visible in the UI and requiring you to review the impact of deleting a VN. This feature helps you safely remove VNs without disrupting endpoint connectivity in Connectivity Templates.

VN Deletion Overview

In 6.1, the VN delete dialog is updated to indicate when the VN you are removing is referenced by one or more Connectivity Templates configured with “Multiple VLAN” primitives. If this is the case, the dialog displays a warning banner stating that the operation has an impact on Connectivity Templates, along with a View Impact button.

Warning message about deleting virtual network VLAN_A, noting impact on connectivity templates, with an orange View Impact button.
Click View Impact for a detailed view that lists every Connectivity Template assignment that will be removed if you proceed with the VN delete.

Warning message about unassigning connectivity templates and removing associated objects. Table lists pod, rack, node, application points, and connectivity templates. Red Delete button at bottom right initiates deletion.

The table includes the following columns:

  • Pod
  • Rack
  • Node
  • Application point
  • Templates

You can cancel the VN deletion or select Delete and commit.